Low Carb Flourless Brownies, recipe in progress

I love baking. I love chocolate. But I don’t like carbs. What am I to do?

I tried this recipe which calls for Splenda (so bad!) so I modified it with 1 cup of erythritol, 1/2 cup xylitol, and 10 drops of vanilla stevia. Here’s what the batter looked like before:

img_0612

I got excited– it looks like “real” brownie batter! Maybe this will answer my childhood nostalgia for eating brownies!

I baked it and it ended up looking like:

img_0613

That’s actually after it cooled down a bit. When it first came out, it looked like a 3D parabola, a collapsed souflee. When you bite into it, it tastes rather eggy.* And my QA tester extraordinaire (aka my boyfriend Daniel) reported a stevia aftertaste. So, back to the drawing board.

Why am I posting my recipe fails? Well, I think that’s part of the journey– it’s important to share what doesn’t work and what does. This recipe doesn’t work, as written. I think if I had beaten the whites and yolks separately, it may have yielded a different result. I also think I’ll try adding a bit of almond flour to minimize the egg-taste. Though, as is, it’d be good for someone with nut allergies. To be continued. For now:

Low Carb Flourless Brownies, Version 1

Ingredients

2 ounces unsweetened chocolate

1 cup grass-fed butter 

1 cup powdered erythritol

1/2 cup xylitol

4 pasture-raised egg yolks

4 pasture-raised eggs

10 drops of vanilla stevia

6 tbs organic cocoa powder

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Melt the chocolate and butter together on stove top or in microwave for 30 second increments.
  3. Add the alternative sugars, eggs, egg yolks, vanilla and cocoa, stirring until well blended.
  4. Pour into a 9 X 13 inch pan lined with parchment paper.
  5. Bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes.

*One-day postscript: The initial egg-y texture is gone if you let these sit out for a day. They are much more fudgy in texture and I don’t detect any stevia aftertaste. 🙂

One thought on “Low Carb Flourless Brownies, recipe in progress

Leave a Reply

