Paleo Sweet Potato Gnocchi, recipe in progress

I had a bunch of sweet potato puree in the fridge and wanted to make something besides mashed sweet potato or sweet potato pancakes, as I am often wont to do on my Paleo/good carb days.

Then I thought… gnocchi! Found this recipe and decided to try it. However, I did not have the arrowroot flour that it called for but I did have some potato starch (yeah, not super Paleo but at least it is gluten-free) so I decided to use that.

Other modifications I made: I also used sage with grass-fed salted butter, finished in a cooled state with some extra virgin olive oil infused with garlic.

OK. So I first started with all the dry ingredients, having already had the sweet potato puree on hand:

img_0591

Then I added the frothy egg white, as directed:

img_0592

I ended up with something pretty cohesive and ready to refrigerate before boiling:

img_0593

“Gluten-free goodness awaits!” I thought, as I waited for the hot water to boil. Once the water started boiling, I rolled everything out and used some sweet rice flour to roll the gnocchi in then started chopping up the elongated tubes and boiled each batch of 10 or so gnocchi for a minute. When I pulled it all out, here’s what happened:

img_0594Yup. That there does not look like this:

gnocchi

So, yeah. It didn’t look appetizing.

Taste-wise, however, it was actually really good. It just wasn’t cohesive like in the last picture. Could it have been the potato starch instead of arrowroot flour substitution I made? Probably. I will make this recipe, as directed next time, and report back.

Here’s the original recipe:

Paleo Sweet Potato Gnocchi

Ingredients:


2 large sweet potatoes

2 cups almond flour

1 cup arrowroot powder, plus more for dusting

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

Pinch of garlic powder

1 egg white
Instructions
  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Poke the sweet potatoes with a fork and place on a baking sheet. Bake for 50 minutes or until soft. Remove from the oven and let cool.
  2. Peel the potatoes and place into a large bowl. Mash well. Add the flour, arrowroot powder, salt, baking soda, and garlic powder. Stir well to combine.
  3. Whisk the egg white until frothy. Gently fold it into the sweet potato mixture. Refrigerate the dough for 30 minutes.
  4. Dust a work surface with arrowroot powder. Roll out a handful of the chilled dough into a long thin rope. Cut into 1-inch segments. Use a fork to slightly flatten each segment.
  5. Prepare a large pot of barely boiling water. Working in small batches, drop each piece of gnocchi into the water. Let cook for about one minute. When they float to the top, remove with a slotted spoon. Place into a colander to drain.
  6. Melt the ghee in a skillet over medium heat. Sear the gnocchi on each side to brown. Serve immediately.
Leave a Reply

