My Weight Lifting Regimen

Before I begin, I just want to share that I am not a personal trainer/expert. I am simply sharing what has worked for me, in true biohacking spirit.

OK– so, in a previous post, I have talked about why I weight lift. But how do I do it?

Here’s what I do, 4 times a week. Takes about 40 minutes per session. The goal is to lift for 8-12 reps per set to the best of your ability. And be sure to rest at least as long as it took you to do a set. So, for example, if it takes you a minute to do 8-12 reps, you should rest for a minute before your next set. Got it?

Chest + Triceps, Day 1:

  1. Dumbbell Bench Press 
  2. Incline (approx. 45 degrees) Bench Press
  3. Seated Machine Chest Press (aka Butterfly or Pec Deck)— I call this one the “beast machine” because Daniel can do the maximum allowable weight on this one and it’s scary to behold!
  4. Smith Machine Decline Press (I affectionately refer to this one as the “boob lifter”)
  5. Bench Dip (aka Tricep Dip) or Tricep Push-Down with V-Bar

Back + Biceps, Day 2:

  1. Machine-Assisted Pull-Up or Wide-Grip Lat Pull-Down 
  2. Assisted Chin-Up or V-Bar Pull-Down
  3. Seated Row
  4. Machine Preacher Curl and/or Barbell Curl 

Shoulders + Abs, Day 3:

  1. Dumbbell Shoulder Press (it took me a while to learn the leg push-up trick to get started so if you’re a beginner, get someone to spot you and/or help you learn it)
  2. Side Lateral Raise
  3. Front Two-Dumbbell Raise (one week we might have the dumbells line up horizontally and then another week, have the dumbbells line up vertically to activate slightly different muscle groups)
  4. Smith Machine Shrug (sometimes we skip this one if we’re short on time– oh well, whatever, I don’t care– *shrug*)
  5. Ab Coaster (you can add weights to it as you get better at it)
  6. Hold a Plank as long as possible

Legs, Day 4:

  1. Barbell Squat
  2. Glute Kickback Machine (we used to do Leg Extensions then Lying Leg Curls so those are good too as an alternative)
  3. Seated Calf Raise
  4. Dumbbell Lunges
  5. Leg Press (we often skip this one since we find ourselves pressed for time– sorry, I couldn’t resist…)

Afterward, I complete the session with a delicious smoothie!

Caution: Always keep good posture throughout all these exercises. If you’re not sure how to do these workouts, get a trainer/professional to help you learn proper form. I have had many friends start off with the best of intentions with lifting then immediately injure themselves and give up.

One thought on “My Weight Lifting Regimen

Leave a Reply

