Why Carbs Occasionally Work (or, My Recipe for Leptin Reset Kimchi Fried Rice)

Have you hit a weight loss plateau while being in ketosis all the time? You lost a ton of weight initially and now you’re average-sized/fine but your goal is to stand out from the crowd and look cut? Maybe resetting your leptin response via cyclical ketosis is your answer. That’s what I have found, anyway.

Cycling out of ketosis for a day or two (I choose the weekend) then jumping back in, in addition to fasting, has really helped me progress in meeting my fitness goal of 18% body fat.

Typically, bodybuilders go through a build and cut cycle. They eat a ton of carbs with their protein to build muscle but this also leads to an increase in body fat. They then cut via ketosis and calorie restriction but then that leads to a decrease in muscle mass.

How can you keep your muscle and lose your fat at the same time? Cyclical ketosis + fasting + weight lifting seems to be the answer.

Look, I’m no expert. I have no aspirations to enter a bodybuilding contest– I just want to hit 18% body fat and keep it. I’m just an amateur biohacker who is researching/experimenting on what works and doesn’t work for her body.

I have figured out a way to get from a size 12 to a size 2 in one year doing this and just thought I’d share how I did it on this blog!

I’m not anorexic– in fact, I haven’t lost that much weight, really– I’m just losing fat and replacing it with muscle. I find myself eating more than I ever did when I was in calorie restriction + cardio mode. I feel good, have lots of energy, and am making great progress in terms of my body composition goal– and I can lift more than some guys at our gym!

fullsizerender-1

Aaaaaanyway. When I was researching cyclical ketosis and slow carbs, I was happy to find out that white rice is OK to eat as much as a couple days a week (I also eat sweet potato and gluten-free flours– no corn or white potato though).

In case you weren’t already aware, I’m Asian American. Having white rice back in my life is kind of a thing for me. The key is to make sure the rice is pre-cooked and cooled and ready to be reheated with coconut oil. That makes it a more resistant starch.

My issue with cooking Paleo/healthy is that a lot of the recipes are very… er… bland. I grew up eating with spice. I’m all for eating healthy but I also want things to taste good.

That’s where this recipe comes in. It’s based on the kimchi fried rice my dad used to make for us growing up.

The key to this dish is… cheese.

“Ew, kimchi and cheese?” is what you’re probably thinking. “And cheese is not even Paleo!”

img_0649

OK, true but this is the way my dad used to make it– and if you have never tried kimchi with cheese (the sharper, the better), then try this flavor combination out! If you want, then certainly cut the cheese (ha).

Leptin Reset Kimchi Fried Rice

Ingredients:

 1 c kimchi, cut into fine shreds
 1 tbs coconut oil (makes rice more s/low carb!)
 2 tbs tamari (gluten-free soy sauce)
 1 c grass-fed ground beef
 2 c cooled and already-cooked white rice 
 1/4 c asiago cheese, shredded
 2 tbs sesame oil to finish
 chopped scallions and sesame seeds for garnish

1. Put coconut oil, kimchi, and ground beef in pan.

img_0647

2. Cook on medium heat until you see your meat brown with the kimchi.

3. Add pre-cooked rice on top and then sprinkle cheese and tamari (gluten-free soy sauce) on top of the rice.

4. Cover and lower heat to medium-low and wait until the cheese gets melty.

6. Uncover and mix well.

7. Turn off heat and finish with sesame oil and sprinkle sesame seeds and scallions for garnish. Enjoy with some roasted seaweed or a fried egg with yolk over easy to get all the unoxidized good fat.

 

Leave a Reply

