Paleo Sweet Potato Chocolate Muffins

Want to find a way to share homemade yet healthy treats with your sweetie this Valentine’s Day? Or just to use sweet potato for your Paleo lifestyle that also incorporates chocolate?

I was researching what to do with some sweet potato puree I had and I didn’t feel like making pancakes as I’m wont to do — that’s where I found this recipe (they called it a “brownie” recipe but it doesn’t taste like that at all so I’m calling it a “muffin,” as that is a more accurate moniker).

Like with all the recipes I post on this site, I try to change the muse recipe somehow to call it my own. I used low carb maple syrup instead of actual maple syrup, as that has a high glycemic index and even on my carb refeed days, I like to avoid high glycemic index foods. I also added slightly less sweet potato puree than the original recipe to make it more fudgy.

Make sure your nut butter is at room temperature– mine wasn’t so it was difficult to mix.

img_0707

Paleo Sweet Potato Chocolate Muffins

Ingredients 

1 cup sweet potato puree
1 cup of any nut butter
3 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder
1 pasture-raised egg
1/4 cup of low carb maple syrup (no aspartame or sucralose)
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
2 teaspoons of cinnamon
1 teaspoon of baking soda

img_0706

Instructions:  

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix all of the ingredients in a bowl.
  3. Prep muffin tin by spreading coconut oil in each cup. Once all the ingredients have been mixed, distribute batter into the muffin tin equally in each cup.
  4. Bake for 20 minutes then let cool and serve!
5 thoughts on “Paleo Sweet Potato Chocolate Muffins

Leave a Reply

